














 MISSOURI DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY
 

EXPLOSIVE USER REGISTRATION & BLASTER LICENSING
 

V. Blaster Applicant Requirements 

All applicants for a blaster's license shall meet all the following requirements: 
1.	 Be at least 21 years of age; 
2.	 Not have willfully violated any provisions of sections 319.300 to 319.345, RSMo; 
3.	 Not have knowingly withheld information or have not made any false or fictitious statement 

intended or likely to deceive in connection with the application; 
4.	 Have familiarity and understanding of relevant federal and state laws relating to explosive 

materials; 
5.	 Not have been convicted in any court of, or pleaded guilty to a felony; 
6.	 Not be a fugitive from justice; 
7.	 Not be an unlawful user of any controlled substance in violation of Chapter 195, RSMo; 
8.	 Not have been adjudicated as mentally defective; and 
9.	 Not advocate or knowingly belong to any organization or group that advocates violent 

action. 

An applicant for a blaster’s license shall also meet one of the following licensing criteria, to be eligible 
to apply to the Division for a license: 

Licensing by Reciprocity: 
Within the three years prior to applying for a license, the individual must have held a valid 
license or certification from a source identified by the Division as meeting or exceeding the 
provisions for licensing within the State of Missouri. 

Licensing by Equivalency: 
An individual employed as a blaster on or before December 31, 2000, who, within the two 
years prior to applying for a license, has accumulated 1,000 hours of training or education and 
experience employed or contracted by a person using explosives, must produce an affidavit 
signed by the state registered explosives user validating the training or education and 
experience. 

1.	 A license granted pursuant to this provision shall only be valid for blasting conducted 
for the person using explosives submitting the affidavit. 

2.	 An individual granted a license that then leaves the employment of or no longer 
contracts with the person submitting the affidavit shall surrender their license and then 
shall be subject to the licensing requirements as a new blaster. 

New Blaster: 
An individual must have accumulated 1,000 hours of documented experience, as approved by 
the Division, directly relating to the use of explosives within the two years immediately prior to 
applying for a license, completed an approved course of instruction and then successfully 
passed an approved state licensing examination. 
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All applicants shall submit the following to the Division when applying for a license: 
1.	 A completed "Application for Licensed Blaster"; 
2.	 A copy of a valid state driver's license or state ID card as proof of applicant's age and identity; 
3.	 An approved criminal background check conducted within the applicant's state of residence 

a.	 Only a criminal background check conducted by the Missouri State Highway 
Patrol or other approved law enforcement agency is approved for licensing ap-
proval. 

b.	 A personal identifier search (also known as name-based search) is acceptable to meet this 
licensing requirement. 

c.	 Highway Patrol background check information is available at www.mshp.dps.mo.gov or 
by calling 573-526-6153. 

4.	 Copy of U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives Notice of Clearance 
or Letter of Clearance; 

5.	 Two passport-type photographs; and 
6.	 A check, money order, or bank draft in the amount of  $100.00 (U.S.) payable to the Mis-

souri Division of Fire Safety. 

All applicants applying as a new blaster must also submit all the following to the Division 
when applying for a license: 

1.	 Documentation of having successfully completed a training course approved by the Division; 
and 

2.	 Documentation verifying at least 1,000 hours of documented experience directly 
relating to the use of explosives within the two years immediately prior to applying 
for a license. 
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MISSOURI DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSED BLASTER 

This entire application must be completed and submitted with the required documentation.
 
Incomplete applications will be rejected.
 

Check One Only: 

License by Reciprocity: MLPA Certification Other: 
(Attach copy of certificate or license) 

License by Equivalency (Attach an affidavit signed by the employer validating at least 1,000 hours of 
training or education and experience within previous two years and employment on or before December 
31, 2000) 

Blaster's License (New) (Attach verification of at least 1,000 hours of documented experience directly 
relating to the use of explosives within the two years immediately prior to applying for a license and 
completion of an approved course of instruction) 

Blaster's License Renewal 

Name: Date of Birth: 

Address: 

City: State: Zip:
 

Phone number: Email:
 

Driver’s License Number and State of Issue:
 

Employer: 

Address: 

City: State: Zip: 

Phone number: Email: 

I hereby certify that I have read and understand the explosive laws and regulations for the State of 
Missouri. I further certify that I have examined this application and documents submitted in support 
thereof and to the best of my knowledge and belief, they are true, correct, and complete. 

Signature: Date: 

The following must be attached to all applications: 
1. A copy of a valid state driver's license or state ID card: 
2. An approved criminal background check conducted within the applicant's state of residence: 
3. Copy of U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives Notice of Clearance or Letter of Clearance; 
4. Two passport-type photographs; and 
5. A check, money order, or bank draft in the amount of  $100 (U.S.) payable to the Missouri Division of Fire Safety. 

For Division of Fire Safety Use Only: 

License Issued License Denied
 

Signature of reviewer: Review date:
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VI. Testing for Blaster Licensure 

The Division of Fire Safety shall approve and administer a standard examination or examinations for 
the purpose of qualifying an individual to obtain a blaster's license. All examinations shall remain the 
property of the Division and in the possession of the Division. 

Individuals applying to test as a Licensed Blaster must submit the following: 
1.	 A completed "Application for Licensed Blaster Examination"; 
2.	 Documentation of having successfully completed a training course approved by the Divi-

sion; and 
3.	 Documentation verifying at least 1,000 hours of documented experience directly 

relating to the use of explosives within the two years immediately prior to applying 
for a license. 

4.	 A check, money order, or bank draft for the $25.00 (U.S.) testing/retesting fee payable to 
the Missouri Division of Fire Safety to be eligible to take the examination. 

Applications must be received by the Division no less than 20 business days prior to the scheduled exam 
date. Preregistration is required for any examination. 

Scheduled examinations are held at the Missouri Division of Fire Safety Headquarters at 2401 East 
McCarty St., Jefferson City, MO and regionally throughout the state.  Exam schedules are posted on the 
Division of Fire Safety website, www.dfs.dps.mo.gov, or can be obtained by contacting the Division at 
(573)751-2930. 

The Division will score all exams and applicants will be notified by letter accordingly within 30 
days of the exam. Notification will indicate only pass/fail status. A passing score shall be a 
score of 75% or above on the exam. 

Should an applicant fail, he or she shall not be eligible to retest until after receiving notifica-
tion of failure. 

Should an applicant fail the exam a second time, he or she must retake an approved training 
course before being allowed to retest for a license. 

If an applicant has not taken a retest within six months of original test date, he or she must 
take an approved course again to be eligible to test. 
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MISSOURI DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSED BLASTER EXAMINATION 

Test Date Requested: Alternative Date: 

Name: Date of Birth: 

Address: 

City: State: Zip: 

Phone number: Alternate Phone: 

Driver’s License Number and State of Issue: 

Employer: 

Address: 

City: State: Zip: 

Phone number: Alternate Phone: 

Blasting Training Course Attended: 

Course Instructor: 

(Attach Course Certificate) 

Course Location: Date: 

By my signature below, I verify that the information provided on this application is true, correct, 
and complete to the best of my knowledge. 

Signature: Date: 

For Division of Fire Safety Use Only: 

Test Date: 

Approved Course Completion: 

Notification by: Date: 
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VII. Blaster License Renewal 

A blaster's license issued by the Division shall expire three years from the date of issuance. 

To be eligible for renewal of a blaster's license, the individual seeking relicensure must submit all of the 
following to the Division no less than 30 days before the date of current license expiration: 

1.	 A completed "Application for Licensed Blaster"; 
2.	 A copy of a valid state driver's license or state ID card; 
3.	 Documentation of having successfully completed a total of eight hours of approved continuing 

education training related to the use of explosives. Four hours of which must have occurred 
within the 12 months immediately before the date of license expiration; 

4.	 An approved current criminal background check conducted within the applicant's state of 
residence; 

5.	 Copy of U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives Notice of Clearance 
or Letter of Clearance; 

6.	 Two  passport-type photographs; and 
7.	 A check, money order, or bank draft in the amount of $100.00 (U.S.) payable to the Mis-

souri Division of Fire Safety. 

Any individual whose license has been expired for a period of three years or less shall be re-
quired to submit documentation of successfully passing an approved state examination and 
completion of eight hours of approved training prior to being eligible to apply for renewal of a 
license. 

Any individual whose license has been expired for a period of more than three years shall be 
required to submit documentation of successfully passing an approved state examination and 
completion of 20 hours of approved training prior to being eligible to apply for a blaster's li-
cense. 
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VIII. Blasters Training Courses 

The Division shall review and approve training courses that fulfill the training requirement of 
qualifying for a blaster's license and fulfill the training requirement for renewal of a blaster's 
license. 

Any person applying to the Division for approval of a course of instruction that meets the blast-
ers' training requirement shall submit the following: 

1.	 A completed "Application for Blaster Training Course Approval"; 
2.	 A description and copy of instructional materials to be used in the course; 
3.	 An outline of the subject matter to be taught, including course objectives and the minimum 

hours of instruction on each topic; 
4.	 A description of the qualifications of the instructor or instructors; and 
5.	 Copies of the tests, quizzes, activities, and/or projects included in the course. 

To be approved by the Division, a blaster's training course shall contain at least 20 hours of 
instruction to prepare attendees for obtaining a blaster's license the first time, or eight hours of 
instruction to prepare attendees for obtaining a license renewal. 

The Division shall review the application regarding the knowledge and experience of proposed 
instructors, the total hours of training, and the adequacy of proposed training in subject matter. 

If the Division determines that training proposed by the applicant is adequate, a letter of approval 
shall be issued to the applicant. Course approval shall be effective for a period of three years, 
after which the materials required above must be submitted again. 

If at any time the Division determines that an approved training course no longer meets the stan-
dards of this section, the letter of approval may be revoked with written notice. 

The Division or any person providing a course of instruction may charge an appropriate fee to 
recover the cost of conducting such instruction. 

The Division shall maintain a current list of persons who provide approved training and shall 
make this list available by any reasonable means to professional and trade associations, labor 
organizations, universities, vocational schools, and others upon request.  Any person providing 
training in an approved course shall submit a list of individuals that attended any such course to 
the Division within 10 business days after completion of the course. 

The Division or its authorized agent shall offer annually at least two courses of instruction that 
fulfill the training requirement of qualifying for a blaster's license and two courses that fulfill the 
training requirement for renewal of a blaster's license. 
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MISSOURI DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY 

REQUEST FOR BLASTING COURSE APPROVAL 

This entire application must be completed and submitted with the required documentation.
 
Incomplete applications will be rejected.
 

Company Name: 

Address: 

City: State: Zip: 

Phone number: Email Address: 

Applicant Name: Date of Birth: 

Address: 

City: State: Zip: 

Phone number: Email Address: 

The following must be submitted with this application: 

A description and copy of instructional materials to be used in the course 

An outline of the subject matter to be taught, including course objectives and the 
minimum hours of instruction on each topic 

A description of the qualifications of the instructor or instructors 

Copies of the tests, quizzes, activities, and/or projects included in the course 

By my signature below, I verify that the information provided on this application is true, correct, 
and complete to the best of my knowledge. 

Signature: Date: 

For Division of Fire Safety Use Only: 

Course Approved: Yes No
 

Reviewed by: Date:
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IX. Blasting Requirements 

Missouri regulations (11CSR40-7.010) set requirements for blasting operations within the state.  The 
effective date of these regulations is July 1, 2008. These regulations state: 

(9) It shall be the duty of each licensed blaster and each person using explosives to assure that the 
requirements of this section are met. 
(A)Any person using explosives in the state of Missouri shall calculate the scaled distance to the 

nearest uncontrolled structure. If more than one (1) uncontrolled structure is the same approxi-
mate distance from the blast site, then the person using explosives may select one (1) repre-
sentative structure for calculation of scaled distance. 

(B)In any instance when the calculated scaled distance value is fifty-five (55) or less, any person 
using explosives shall use at least one (1) seismograph calibrated to the manufacturer’s 
standard for use to record the ground vibration and acoustic levels that occur from the use of 
such explosives or explosive materials. 

(C)When measuring ground vibration and acoustic levels, the seismograph shall be placed in the 
proximity of the nearest uncontrolled structure or, at the option of the person using explosives, 
closer to the blast site. If more than one (1) uncontrolled structure is the same approximate 
distance from the blast site, then the person using explosives may select one (1) representative 
structure for placement of the seismograph. 

(D)Any person using explosives who is voluntarily using a seismograph calibrated to the 
manufacturer’s standard for use for all blasting is exempt from the requirements of this sec-
tion. 

(E) Seismograph recordings of the ground vibration and acoustic levels created by the use of 
explosives, when required as above, shall be retained for at least three (3) years. Such re-
cordings shall be made available to the Division within twenty-four (24) hours of a request by 
any representative of the Division. 

(F) Each seismograph recording and the accompanying records shall include the— 
1.	 Maximum ground vibration and acoustics levels recorded; 
2.	 Specific location of the seismograph equipment, its distance from the detonation of the 

explosives, the date of the recording, and the time of the recording; 
3.	 Name of the individual responsible for operation of the seismograph equipment and 

performing an analysis of each recording; and 
4.	 Type of seismograph instrument, its sensitivity and calibration signal, or certification date 

of the last calibration. 
(G)Any person using explosives in the state of Missouri in which monitoring with a seismograph 

is required shall limit acoustic values from blasting to one hundred thirty-three decibels (133 
dB) using a two hertz (2 Hz) flat response measuring system based on the Office of Surface 
Mining regulation 30 CFR 816.67(b)(1)(i). 
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(H)Any person using explosives in the state of Missouri in which monitoring with a seismograph 
is required shall comply with ground vibration limits based on the U.S. Bureau of Mines 
Report of Investigations 8507, Appendix B: 

(I) In lieu of the ground vibration limit established above, the person using explosives may 
submit a written request to the Division to use an alternate compliance method. Such written 
request shall be supported by sufficient technical information, which may include, but not be 
limited to, documented approval of such method by other federal, state, or local political 
subdivisions which regulate the use of explosives. Upon submittal by the person using explo-
sives of a request to use an alternate compliance method, the State Blasting Safety Board shall 
issue a written determination as to whether the technical information submitted provides 
sufficient justification for the alternate method to be used as a method of demonstrating com-
pliance with the provisions of this section. 

(J) A record of use of explosives shall be made and retained for at least three (3) years. 
1.	 Licensed blasters shall create the record required in this section and provide such record 

to the person using explosives, who shall be responsible for maintaining records required 
in this section. 

2.	 The record shall be completed on a form provided or approved by the Division and 
completed by the end of the business day following the day in which the explosives were 
detonated.* 

3.	 Such records shall be made available to the Division, upon request, within twenty-four 
(24) hours of the request. 

4.	 Each record shall include the— 
A.	 Name of the person using the explosives; 
B.	 Location, date, and time of the detonation; 
C.	 Name of the licensed blaster responsible for use of the explosives; 
D.	 Type of material blasted; 
E.	 Number of bore holes, burden, and spacing; 

* A blasting record is acceptable if it contains all of the information required in these regulations.  A 
copy of an approved blasting record is provided on pages 18-19. Although use of this form is not 
mandated, this form may be used in lieu of any form without all of the required information. 
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F.	 Diameter and depth of bore holes; 
G.	 Type of explosives used; 
H.	 Weight of explosives used per bore hole and total weight of explosives used; 
I.	 Maximum weight of explosives detonated within any eight (8)-millisecond period; 
J.	 Maximum number of bore holes or decks detonated within any eight (8)-millisecond 

period; 
K.	 Initiation system, including number of circuits and the timer interval, if a sequential timer 

is used; 
L.	 Type and length of stemming; 
M. Type of detonator and delay periods used, in milliseconds; 
N.	 Sketch of delay pattern, including decking; 
O.	 Distance and scaled distance to the nearest uncontrolled structure; and 
P.	 Location of the nearest uncontrolled structure, using the best available information. 

5.	 If the type of blasting being recorded by a seismograph does not involve bore holes, then 
the record required in paragraph (9)(J)4. shall contain the: 
A.	 Name of the person using the explosives; 
B.	 Location, date, and time of the detonation; 
C.	 Name of the licensed blaster responsible for use of the explosives; 
D.	 Type of material blasted; 
E.	 Type of explosives used; 
F.	 Weight of explosives used per shot and total weight of explosives used; 
G.	 Maximum weight of explosives detonated within any eight (8)-millisecond period; 
H.	 Initiation system, including number of circuits and the timer interval, if a sequential timer 

is used; 
I.	 Type of detonator and delay periods used, in milliseconds; 
J.	 Sketch of delay pattern; 
K.	 Distance and scaled distance, if required under the provisions of section 319.309, RSMo, 

to the nearest uncontrolled structure; and 
L.	 Location of the nearest uncontrolled structure, using the best available information. 
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 MISSOURI DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY BLASTING REPORT
 

Project Name: 

Blast Location Address: 

City: County: 

Blasting Company: 

Contact Person: Phone: 

Name of Blaster: Blaster License No: 

Date of Blasting: Time: Day: 

Shot Type: Quarry:  Road Construction:     Trench:      Construction:      Other: 

Material Blasted: 

Burden (feet): No. of Holes: 
Hole Diameter 
(inches): 

Hole Depth 
(feet): 

Spacing 
(feet): 

Stemming Type: Top Stemming  (feet): 

Explosive Weight per hole: Total Explosive Weight in shot: 

Delay Periods Used 
(in milliseconds): 

Maximum weight denoted 
per delay: 

Maximum holes/decks per delay: 

Initiation System:   Electric:  Nonelectric: No. of circuits: Timer interval (if used): 

Explosive Type Used: 

Explosive Type Used: 

Explosive Type Used: 

Explosive Type Used: 

Explosive Type Used 

Location of Nearest Uncontrolled Structure: 

Direction & Distance to Nearest Uncontrolled Structure: 

Calculated Scaled Distance to Nearest Uncontrolled Structure: 
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 MISSOURI DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY BLASTING REPORT
 

Time:  a.m. p.m. Location:  Date: 

Typical Borehole 

Indicate North 
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