City of Columbia Missouri

Commission on Cultural Affairs Standing Committee On Public Art

Meeting Body Details

Working with the Commission on Cultural Affairs, this Standing Committee on Public Art shall assist the City Council in any consideration of public art by making recommendations concerning the type of public art to be commissioned, the location of the art, and whether an artist's competition should be held and the extent of that competition. This Committee shall consist of at least five members, with three members being appointed by the City Council and two members of the Commission on Cultural Affairs. In addition to the regular members of the Standing Committee, up to three temporary additional members may be appointed for any specific public art project to serve until the project is completed. Of the members appointed by the City Council, two must be artists and one must be from the business community. The length of terms is three years, with openings occurring in July.

Members & Terms:

  • Tootie Burns - Term Ending July 1, 2022
  • Valerie Berta - Term Ending July 1, 2020
  • Levi Sherman - Term Ending July 1, 2021
  • Jane Church (Commission on Cultural Affairs Representative)
  • Kristin Gadsden (Commission on Cultural Affairs Representative)

Establishing Legislation:

PR108-08 - Establishing policies for the City’s Percent for Art Program and a Commission on Cultural Affairs Standing Committee on Public Art