COLUMBIA POLICE DEPARTMENT CRACKING DOWN ON IMPAIRED DRIVERS
Columbia Police Department cracking down on impaired drivers this weekend, May 16-May 18, 2014 with the upcoming graduations. There will be a sobriety check point sometime during this weekend. The focus is on reducing deaths and serious injuries caused by impaired drivers. The overtime will be paid for by a grant funded by the Missouri Department Traffic& Highway Safety Division.
Impaired driving is a preventable crime, and we intend to crack down so drivers feel secure when traveling on Missouri's roadways. Consider some of the consequences if you are caught driving while intoxicated:
For the first conviction (or first conviction in five years), your license will be suspended for 30 days followed by a 60 day suspension if a hardship license is not obtained. A second conviction results in a $1,000 fine, a yearlong revocation of your license and up to a year in jail. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock system on your vehicle, preventing your car from starting when you have alcohol on your breath. Third and subsequent convictions can be penalized with up to a $5,000 fine, a 10-year license denial, and/or up to seven years in jail. If you cause a fatal crash while intoxicated, you could be charged with Involuntary Manslaughter, a felony resulting in up to seven years of jail time, a $5,000 fine or both.
To learn more about impaired driving, visit www.savemolives.com/.