		The second secon
Introduced	h.	Treece
Introduced	DV.	11666

Council Bill No.

R 48-17 A

## **A RESOLUTION**

establishing a Drinking Water Planning Work Group to assist in an update of the 2011 Water Treatment Plant Expansion Preliminary Design Report.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBIA, MISSOURI, AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. There is hereby established a Drinking Water Planning Work Group to assist in an update of the 2011 Water Treatment Plant Expansion Preliminary Design Report and to provide guidance to the Water and Light Advisory Board and City Council on the following:

- Review current drinking water regulations, including what types of disinfection methods comply with regulations.
- Review Columbia's current water supply conditions.
- Assess the current state of utility industry and customer-side water treatment technology and cost.
- Review and provide input on developed recommendations.
- Develop drinking water planning recommendations.

SECTION 2. The Drinking Water Planning Work Group shall consist of seven (7) members comprised as follows:

- One (1) member shall be a City Council member appointed by the City Council. The initial City Council member appointee is Karl Skala.
- Six (6) members shall be appointed by the City Utilities Water and Light Director from the drinking water customer user groups set forth herein. The initial six (6) appointees are as follows:
  - 1. Residential customer member Julie Ryan (CoMo Safe Water)
  - 2. Commercial customer member Matt Off (Director, Rockbridge HyVee)
  - 3. Industrial customer member Ron Pruett (3M, Plant Engineering)
  - 4. Water industry professional member Terry Merritt (Alliance Water Resources)

- 5. Educational institution member Randy Jackson (Environmental Engineer, Columbia Public School District)
- 6. Healthcare industry member Michael Szewczyk, MD (Chair, Columbia/Boone County Board of Health)

SECTION 3. The Drinking Water Planning Work Group shall also include the following non-voting members:

- Two (2) ad hoc non-voting members shall be members of the Water and Light Advisory Board to be appointed by the Water and Light Advisory Board.
- One (1) ad hoc non-voting member shall be from the Office of Sustainability to be appointed by the Sustainability Manager.

SECTION 4. A quorum to hold a meeting shall consist of four (4) voting members. All meetings shall be open to involvement and participation by as many additional community members who desire to attend.

SECTION 5. The Drinking Water Planning Work Group shall make a final report to the Water and Light Advisory Board of its findings and recommendations by December 31, 2017. The Work Group shall be dissolved upon submitting its final report.

SECTION 6. The Drinking Water Planning Work Group shall be provided reasonable staff support.

ADOPTED this 3rd day of	April , 2017.
ATTEST:	
City Clerk	Mayor and Presiding Officer
APPROVED AS TO FORM:	
Oity/Counselor	