City of Columbia Missouri Logo

Columbia Library District Board


The Columbia Library District Board is not staffed by the City of Columbia.  Meeting materials can be found at

Appoints chief executive officer of the library, controls expenditures of library fund monies, purchases, leases, and sells real property, and extends use privileges to non-residents through agreements. Members of this nine member board must reside within the boundaries of the Columbia Library District, which is different than the boundaries of the City of Columbia. No member of City government can be a member of the board. In addition, no member of the of the board can serve for more than three successive full terms and is not eligible for further appointment until two years after the expiration of the third term. Length of terms is three years, with openings occurring in June.

Members & Terms:

  • Lynn Hostetler - Term Ending June 30, 2019
  • Vacant - Term Ending June 30, 2019
  • Vacant - Term Ending June 30, 2019
  • Lisa Groshong - Term Ending June 30, 2020
  • Kathleen Markie - Term Ending June 30, 2020
  • Khaki Westerfield - Term Ending June 30, 2020
  • J. Hasbrouck Jacobs - Term Ending June 30, 2018
  • Julie Baka - Term Ending June 30, 2018
  • Philip Harrison - Term Ending June 30, 2018

Establishing Legislation:

According to the Daniel Boone Regional Library, the first official Columbia Library District Board was established in 1922, which was also when the first library tax levy was approved.

The legislative authority for the Columbia Library Board is contained in Chapter 182 of the Revised Statutes of the State of Missouri.

Brochure with Information for Potential Members of the Board.

The Daniel Boone Regional Library website has additional information as well.